leena prasad

Home » Santa Rosa » in the dark…

in the dark…

It happened fast. One minute I am looking for the lentils that I will make for dinner. The next, I am in total darkness.

My first instinct is to find my boyfriend, J.  He is studying for an exam scheduled for tomorrow. His first instinct is to locate flashlights and batteries. J sets up a flashlight on the coffee table in the living room and floods the room with soft white light. I peer outside to confirm that the problem is not a fuse blowing in our house. Except for the lights from the occasional cars on the road, the neighborhood is shrouded in darkness.

It is a little past 6pm on Thursday night, November 21st. The darkness is furnished with a soundtrack of winds blowing between 20-30 miles an hour. I was aware of the high winds but too busy to pay much attention. Now, the sound is pervasive.

As J dials the number of the electric company, there is a loud knock at the door.

“Don’t open it”, J says,  in a cautious voice. We are both accustomed to city living. We know that we live in a safe neighborhood of Santa Rosa but the reaction is automatic.

“Who is it?” I ask.

“It’s the neighbors…candles.”

We have a dozen or so candles and we are not using any of it so I am happy to share, I think. I open the door to a couple. He is holding a flashlight. She is holding candles and matches. She hands several candles to me.

“Oh, I already have some,” I say. When she continues to try to give some to me, I gingerly take a few. I accept a large box of matches too. Those could be useful because I do not know where mine are right now. They say something about us being new to the neighborhood and probably being unprepared. I am touched by their generosity and thank them profusely.

J continues to study in the living room, using the laptop batteries that are fully charged. I eat a peanut butter sandwich and read a novel on my iPad. When I get bored, I draw.

We take a break at 7:30ish to start a fire in the fireplace. The neighbor’s matches come in handy. It is a beautiful fire and warms the room quickly.

The lights come back around 9:48pm. My plan for the evening was to cook, eat, read, and write. I was unable to cook. But I ate, read, and drew. I also wrote  most of this blog on my iPad while the lights were out. Plus, we enjoyed our first fire in the fireplace in our new home.  I make a note to return the candles and matches tomorrow. Since I do not know which house they are from, this will be a good excuse to meet the neighbors.

I am not accustomed to  power failures but this one was not so bad at all.

Leave a Reply

Links to other writing by me can be found at fishRidingaBike.com
Follow leena prasad on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

